Alabama DUI & DWI Laws

DUI Offense In The State Of Alabama

If you’ve been arrested for an Alabama DUI the law allows you only 10 days to request a hearing before the Alabama Department of Public Safety to save your driver’s license, that’s why it’s important to contact an experienced Alabama DUI attorney right away.

First Offense DUI in Alabama

  • First offense is a misdemeanor and carries a maximum sentence of one (1) year of incarceration, with no minimum period mandated. Most cases are resolved without further incarceration, after the initial arrest and booking.
  • Fines applicable in first offense range from $600 to $1200, plus fines and fees incurred in completing any alternative sentence arrangement.
  • Convictions remain on a person's record for five (5) years and may be used to influence sentencing for subsequent DUI convictions.

Second Offfense DUI in Alabama

If you are charged with a DUI within five years of a first offense, you will face additional Alabama DUI penalties:

  • You will be charged with a misdemeanor
  • A jail term of no less than 5 days and up to 365 days will be required
  • 30 days of community service may be acceptable in some cases
  • Fines will range from $1100 to $5100.
  • Your Alabama driver's license will be suspended for at least one year
  • You will be required to attend a court ordered treatment program

 

Third Offfense DUI in Alabama

If you have a third conviction of DUI in the state, within your lifetime, a conviction will include the following:

  • You will be charged with a misdemeanor
  • No less than 60 days in jail, up to a year in jail
  • A fine of $2100 to $10,100 will be imposed
  • Driver's license will be suspended for 3 years
  • Court ordered alcohol treatment program will be necessary

 

Fourth Offfense DUI in Alabama

If you are facing Alabama DUI penalties for a fourth time, these are the likely consequences:

  • You will be charged with a Class C felony
  • No less than one year and one day and no more than ten years of imprisonment is required
  • You will be fined between $4100 and $10,100
  • Your driver's license will be suspended for five years
  • A court approved substance abuse program is required
Alabama Florida Louisiana Nebraska Oklahoma Vermont
Alaska Georgia Maine Nevada Oregon Virginia
Arizona Hawaii Maryland New Hampshire Pennsylvania Washington
Arkansas Idaho Massachusetts New Jersey Rhode Island West Virginia
California Illinois Michigan New Mexico South Carolina Wisconsin
Colorado Indiana Minnesota New York South Dakota Wyoming
Connecticut Iowa Mississippi North Carolina Tennessee
Delaware Kansas Missouri North Dakota Texas
Dist. of Columbia Kentucky Montana Ohio Utah


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.