Connecticut DUI Laws
Connecticut law states that drivers under 21 may not be 0.02% or more. DUI’s will be issued to 18 year olds or younger individuals with a measurable BAC of .02%, persons over 21 with a BAC of 0.08% and commercial drivers with a BAC of 0.04% or more.
Connecticut requires anyone who has had their license taken to carry an SR22 Insurance and Financial Responsibility certificate. The reason for the suspension does not make a difference. You will not be able to get your license back until you obtain the SR22 coverage by filling out the Connecticut forms.
Connecticut First Offense DUI Laws
Minimum 48 hour jail sentence or 100 hours community service, maximum sentence of six months $500-1,000 in fines
A first offense will result in a minimum of 48 hours in jail up to a maximum of 6 months jail time. At the court's discretion they may suspend part or all of the jail sentence in lieu of up to 100 hours of community service.
Drivers License Suspension
Driver's over the age of 21 with a BAC between .08% - .159% will have their driver's license suspended for 90 days. Driver's who registered a BAC of .16% or greater will have their driver's license suspended for 120 days. Driver's under the age of 21 will experience longer suspension periods than those of driver's over 21 years of age.
Connecticut Second Offense DUI Laws
The second offense will result in 120 days to 2 years of jail time, fines between $1,000.00 and $4,000.00 and a license suspension of 1 year. You will have to pay the installation fee for the IID in your vehicle and pay the rent of that device for up to 2 years after you get your suspended license back.
You will have to complete a Substance Abuse Treatment Program and perform at least 100 hours of Community Service. You will also be required to pay for the towing and release of your vehicle from the impound lot after 48 hours has passed from the time of your arrest. If you receive your second DUI in another state, the suspension of your license will be three years from the date of that arrest unless you are under 21. In this case it will be three years or your 21st birthday.
Connecticut Third Offense DUI Laws
Third and subsequent DUI convictions Minimum one year in jail, maximum sentence of three years $2,000-8,000 in fines Permanent revocation of driver's license
A third DUI conviction in Connecticut calls for a prison sentence of up to 3 years. However, the minimum punishment is 1 year in prison. The offender may also get 100 hours of community service.