Hawaii DUI /DWI Laws

Hawaii Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

In Hawaii, you can get a DUI if you drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, regardless of whether your driving ability was actually impaired. And the law in Hawaii says that if you are driving a vehicle, you have given consent to submit to a chemical test for the purpose of determining the amount of alcohol in your blood. Here are some details on the consequences of refusing to take a chemical test in Hawaii and other details about Hawaii DUI law.

Laws and penalties for DUI in Hawaii

In Hawaii, the maximum blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers who are under 21 (considered minors under some drinking and driving laws) is 0%. Hawaii is a "zero tolerance" state. Penalties include 180 day suspension of license (first offense); 1 year suspension (second offense); 2 year suspension (third offense).

1st Hawaii DUI Offense

1st Hawaii DUI Offense First Drunk Driving Conviction    Jail – 48 Hours to 5 Days and / or, Jail – 48 Additional Hours     Fine – From $150 to $1,000

2nd Hawaii DUI Offense

2nd Hawaii DUI OffenseJail – 5 to 14 Days Possible Jail – 48 Additional Hours Fine – From $500 to $1,500 Fine – Additional $500 if Child Under 15 was in the Vehicle

3rd Hawaii DUI Offense

3rd Hawaii DUI Offense Jail – 10 to 30 Days Possible  Jail – 48 Additional Hours If Child Under 15 in Vehicle)   Fine – From $500 to $2,500


In Hawaii, if you are convicted of DWI, DUI or OVUII, you will be handed an immediate suspension of your driver's license for 90 days. If you are employed and can show a need for transportation to work, that time-frame may be reduced to 30 days, but you will only be able to drive back and forth to work for the complete 90 days.

Alabama Florida Louisiana Nebraska Oklahoma Vermont
Alaska Georgia Maine Nevada Oregon Virginia
Arizona Hawaii Maryland New Hampshire Pennsylvania Washington
Arkansas Idaho Massachusetts New Jersey Rhode Island West Virginia
California Illinois Michigan New Mexico South Carolina Wisconsin
Colorado Indiana Minnesota New York South Dakota Wyoming
Connecticut Iowa Mississippi North Carolina Tennessee
Delaware Kansas Missouri North Dakota Texas
Dist. of Columbia Kentucky Montana Ohio Utah


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.