Michigan DUI / DWI Laws

Michigan DUI & OWI Laws: Penalties & Fines

A driver in Michigan may be subject to varying penalties for a first offense. If the driver has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or above, the penalties will be less than if the BAC is .17% or higher. Michigan refers to DUIs as OWIs (Operating While Intoxicated) or if the driving is impaired and the BAC is below .08% the driver may be charged with an OWVI (Operating While visibly Impaired). Penalties increase if a minor is present in the vehicle or if there is bodily injury.

First Offense OWI/DUI in Michigan

If BAC is below .17 and this is a first offense:

  • Up to 180 days license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver's license

If BAC is .17 or higher and this is a first offense:

  • Up to one year license suspension
  • 6 points on a driver's license
  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program
  • Ignition interlock use and compliance after 45 days license suspension is required to receive a restricted driver's license. Convicted drunk drivers have limited driving privileges, are prohibited from operating a vehicle without an approved and properly installed ignition interlock device, and are responsible for all installation and upkeep costs for the device.

Anyone who refuses a breath test the first time is given an automatic one-year driver's license suspension.

  • First offense refusals to submit under implied consent laws carry mandatory administrative license suspension of one (1) year

Second Offense OWI/DUI in Michigan

If you are convicted of a second DUI in Michigan, you may lose your driver's license. In Michigan, if you are convicted of two drunken driving convictions within 7 years, the Michigan Secretary of State will suspend your driver's license for one year.

For a second refusal to take a chemical test within seven years, the suspension is two years. In addition, restricted licenses based upon personal hardship are no longer recognized by the court. Instead, to reinstate a driver's license, you must apply for a license reinstatement through Michigan’s Driver's License Appeal Division, or DLAD, after the suspension period has ended.

Third Offense OWI/DUI in Michigan

If you are convicted of a third or subsequent DUI offense, the following administrative penalties are possible:

  • A $1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years.
  • You may need to install an ignition interlock device at your own expense.
  • Driving license is suspended for up to five years.
  • Six points added to your driver’s license.
  • Confiscation of your driver’s license.
  • Vehicle is either forfeited or immobilized for one to three years.

Criminal Penalties

If you are convicted of a third or subsequent DUI offense, the following criminal penalties are possible:

  • A probation sentence of 1 month to 1 year.
  • A jail sentence of 1 year to 5 years.
  • Fines from $500-$5,000.
  • 60-180 days of community service.
Alabama Florida Louisiana Nebraska Oklahoma Vermont
Alaska Georgia Maine Nevada Oregon Virginia
Arizona Hawaii Maryland New Hampshire Pennsylvania Washington
Arkansas Idaho Massachusetts New Jersey Rhode Island West Virginia
California Illinois Michigan New Mexico South Carolina Wisconsin
Colorado Indiana Minnesota New York South Dakota Wyoming
Connecticut Iowa Mississippi North Carolina Tennessee
Delaware Kansas Missouri North Dakota Texas
Dist. of Columbia Kentucky Montana Ohio Utah


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.