Minnesota Drunk Driving Laws, Penalties and Fines
According to . The penalties for first time offenders includes administrative penalties (license suspensions) and criminal penalties. If the first-time offender has a BAC over .16, the driver must use an ignition interlock system.
First Offense DWI in Minnesota
- First time offenders who have a BAC under .16 will receive 90 days of no driving privileges. The driver has a choice of the following: (1) 15 days of no driving privileges and a limited license for remaining 90-day period or (2) Full driving privileges for 90-day period with use of ignition interlock.
- The 90 days is reduced to 30 days with a guilty
- If the driver's BAC is .16 or over and/or there is a child in the vehicle, the penalty is either one year of no driving privileges OR one year of an ignition interlock restricted driver’s license. In addition, the license plates may be impounded and vehicle forfeited.
- Refusals to submit under Minnesota’s implied consent laws result in mandatory license revocation of one (1) year for first offenders. The Driver has a choice of the following: (1) 15 days of no driving privileges and a limited license for remainder of the year or (2) Full driving privileges for the year with use of ignition interlock
Second Offense DWI in Minnesota
A second offender with a BAC under .16 will receive a sentence of 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine. If the BAC is .20 or higher, the sentence is one year in jail and a $3,000 fine. In some cases, you can serve extra jail time to reduce your fines. Sentences are more severe if a minor was in the vehicle. You might be able to reduce your sentence by taking an alcohol treatment class, or being put on probation, but this often requires assistance from a lawyer.
Third Offense DWI in Minnesota
A third offense DWI in Minnesota is a gross misdemeanor and you may face:
- Up to 1 year in jail
- A fine of $3000
- Forfeiture of vehicle
- Jail detention until the first court appearance
- Completion of an alcohol treatment program
- Electronic home monitoring
Depending on the charges, a third offense DWI in Minnesota can be considered a felony, with three or more years of prison time and a fine of up to $14,000. As with many DWI incidents, your automobile insurance policy rates will go up and you may even lose your auto insurance.