Mississippi DUI Laws, Penalties & Fines
A conviction for a first DUI offense in Mississippi results in both criminal (fines, jail time) and administrative penalties (license suspension). Keep in mind that penalties may be more severe for commercial drivers, juveniles and underage drivers (in violation of zero tolerance laws) or for incidents involving property damage or bodily injury.
What are the penalties for a DUI in Mississippi?
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail||Up to 48 hours||5 days up to 1 year||1 to 5 years|
|Fines and Penalties||$250 to $1,000||$600 to $1,500||$2,000 up to $5,000|
|License Suspension||90 days||2 years||5 years|
First Offense DUI in Mississippi
- First offense DUI in Mississippi results in administrative license suspension of ninety (90) days with the potential of a driver to obtain a hardship-based license after serving thirty (30) days of suspension. A bill which should go into effect July, 2014, would require a 90 day suspension or 30 day suspension with interlock device.
- First offense refusals to submit, under Mississippi’s implied consent laws, results in an automatic license suspension of ninety (90) days
- Reinstatement may require alcohol/substance abuse assessment
Second Offense DUI in Mississippi
- Jail from 5 days to one year;
- Fines from $600 to $1,500;
- Community service from 10 days to one year;
- Mandatory alcohol programs.
- 2 year license suspension (which may be reduced to one-year under certain circumstances);
- The possibility of an ignition interlock device which would be installed for 6 months after the license is reinstated;
- Furthermore, you could face impoundment of registered vehicles while your license is suspended.
Third Offense DUI in Mississippi
- A fine that ranges from $2000 to $5000, plus court costs
- A prison sentence of 1 to 5 years in the State Penitentiary
- Drivers license suspension for a minimum of 5 years after jail release
- The seizure and sale of your automobile, with sale proceeds given to the state
- An ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for at least 6 months after your license is reinstated and you have also completed a diagnostic assessment and possibly treatment for alcohol and/or drugs.
- A felony conviction
Those who have received a third offense DUI may also be required to attend alcohol education classes. Community service requirements may also be a part of the penalties involved when arrested for DUI in Mississippi.