Nevada DUI / DWI Lawyers

Nevada Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

Under Nebraska DUI law, it is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A Nebraska DUI charge may be based on subjective observation (e.g., driving patterns, field sobriety testing) or a chemical test result showing a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher. It is important to consult a Nebraska DUI lawyer who has the expertise required to challenge DUI charges and protect your legal rights.

Jail 2 days to 6 months  10 days to 6   months 1 to 6 years
Fines and Penalties $400 to $1,000 $750 to $1,000 $2,000 to $5,000
License Suspension 90 days 1 year 3 years
IID** Required Possible Possible Yes

First Offense DUI in Nevada

first offense DUI arrest in Nevada face an administrative license suspension of ninety (90) days, with the ability for offenders to obtain a restricted/hardship license after half the ninety (90) day suspension period. Reinstatement of license, if during suspension period, will require use of ignition interlock device for first offense. Reinstatement of license also requires completion of DUI school and alcohol/substance abuse assessment

Second Offense DUI in Nevada

The penalties for a second DUI in Nevada are established in Section 484C.400 of the state's Revised Statutes. These rules set forth the criminal and administrative penalties, as well as the period of time in which prior DUI convictions can be accounted for in the court's punishment.

Nevada identifies a second DUI offense as a misdemeanor, which means that its criminal punishment carries less than a year in prison. The state allows courts to order a second time DUI offender to no less than ten days and no more than six months in prison, and no less than ten days and no more than six months in a residential alcohol treatment facility. The court may also order the offender to attend an additional outpatient treatment program. Finally, a second time offender can be fined from $750 to $1000, or community service hours that are the equivalent to the ascribed fine.

Third Offense DUI in Nevada

A third offense DUI in Nevada committed within seven years of the first two offenses will lead to serious administrative and criminal penalties. The third offense is also a class B felony and includes commitment to a Nevada prison for a minimum of one year. The penalties may be more severe if the incident involves injury of another person.

Administrative penalties include the loss of a driver’s license and rehabilitation:

  • Driver’s license suspended for 3 years with possible eligibility for a restricted license
  • Suspension of motor vehicle registration
  • Victim impact panel attendance (MADD lecture)
  • SR22 Nevada insurance requirement
  • Installation of the Ignition interlock device for 12 months up to 36 months
  • $35 civil penalty

Criminal penalties for a third DUI offense include:

  • Fines from $2,000 to $5,000
  • 1 year to 6 years in the Nevada State Prison

If the DUI leads to injury or death of another person there are stricter penalties that include:

  • Driver’s license suspension for 3 years with no restricted license
  • 2 to 20 years in the Nevada State Prison
  • Fine between $2,000 to $5,000
Alabama Florida Louisiana Nebraska Oklahoma Vermont
Alaska Georgia Maine Nevada Oregon Virginia
Arizona Hawaii Maryland New Hampshire Pennsylvania Washington
Arkansas Idaho Massachusetts New Jersey Rhode Island West Virginia
California Illinois Michigan New Mexico South Carolina Wisconsin
Colorado Indiana Minnesota New York South Dakota Wyoming
Connecticut Iowa Mississippi North Carolina Tennessee
Delaware Kansas Missouri North Dakota Texas
Dist. of Columbia Kentucky Montana Ohio Utah


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.