New Hampshire DUI / DWI Lawyers

New Hampshire Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

Being convicted for DWI in New Hampshire doesn't mean you'll never have a driver's license again. Like all traffic violations the DMV Point System plays a role in what happens to your license. Other factors relating to your arrest will influence your case as well as your driving record.

What are the penalties for a DUI/DWI in New Hampshire?

  
Jail 10 days min. 30 days min. 180 days min.
Fines and Penalties $500 to $750 $750 min. $750 min.
License Suspension 9 to 18 months 3 years min. Indefinitely
IID** Required No Possible Possible

First Offense DWI/DUI in New Hampshire

First DUI in New Hampshire, otherwise known as first offense DWI, carries both criminal and administrative penalties. Penalties depend on whether the offender faces simple or aggravated DWI charges. A driver is guilty of aggravated DUI if the driver operates a vehicle with .08% BAC or higher and

  • drives or operates at a speed more than 30 miles per hour in excess of the prima facie limit;
  • causes a motor vehicle, boating collision resulting in serious bodily injury;
  • attempts to elude pursuit by a law enforcement officer by increasing speed, extinguishing headlamps or, in the case of a boat, navigational lamps while still in motion, or abandoning a vehicle, boat while being pursued;
  • or carries as a passenger a person under the age of 16.

Second Offense DWI/DUI in New Hampshire

All second-time DUI offenders in New Hampshire are guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and subject to a fine of no less than $750, regardless of when the prior offense occurred. Additionally, the court in its judgment may order an offender to submit to regular or random alcohol tests and complete an alcohol addiction treatment program.

For offenders whose previous violation occurred two or fewer years previously, the offender must serve at least 30 days in county jail. Offenders whose previously violation occurred more than two but less than ten years previously must serve no less than ten days in county jail.

A second DUI in New Hampshire. The law sets forth penalties for basic DUI (also referred to as a DWI in New Hampshire) and an aggravated DUI/DWI. A driver is guilty of aggravated DUI if the driver operates a vehicle with .08% BAC or higher and

  • drives or operates at a speed more than 30 miles per hour in excess of the prima facie limit;
  • causes a motor vehicle, boating collision resulting in serious bodily injury;
  • attempts to elude pursuit by a law enforcement officer by increasing speed, extinguishing headlamps or, in the case of a boat, navigational lamps while still in motion, or abandoning a vehicle, boat while being pursued;
  • or carries as a passenger a person under the age of 16.

Third Offense DWI/DUI in New Hampshire

If you have committed a third offense of DWI/DUI in New Hampshire you face serious penalties which can be even more severe if the DUI is classified as "aggravated." An aggravated DUI occurs if the driver operates a vehicle with .08% BAC or higher and drives or operates at a speed more than 30 miles per hour in excess of the prima facie limit; causes a motor vehicle, boating collision resulting in serious bodily injury; attempts to elude pursuit by a law enforcement officer by increasing speed, extinguishing headlamps or, in the case of a boat, navigational lamps while still in motion, or abandoning a vehicle, boat while being pursued; or carries as a passenger a person under the age of 16.

According to New Hampshire law here are the minimum penalties that you will have to face when you are caught driving under the influence for the third time:

  • You will be required to spend 180 days in jail as a result of your actions.
  • There will be a minimum fine of $750 which could go higher depending on if other things are involved in your case.
  • An indefinite suspension. You may be able to request a reinstatement from the court after 7 years.
  • There is a minimum of a 28 day residential treatment program that must be entered.
  • You will be required to carry SR22 insurance for the state of New Hampshire.
  • You may be required to get an ignition interlock device if you are granted any driving privileges.
  • It is a possibility that you will need alcohol and drug rehab counseling depending on the ruling of the judge.
Alabama Florida Louisiana Nebraska Oklahoma Vermont
Alaska Georgia Maine Nevada Oregon Virginia
Arizona Hawaii Maryland New Hampshire Pennsylvania Washington
Arkansas Idaho Massachusetts New Jersey Rhode Island West Virginia
California Illinois Michigan New Mexico South Carolina Wisconsin
Colorado Indiana Minnesota New York South Dakota Wyoming
Connecticut Iowa Mississippi North Carolina Tennessee
Delaware Kansas Missouri North Dakota Texas
Dist. of Columbia Kentucky Montana Ohio Utah


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.