New Jersey DUI / DWI Lawyers

New Jersey Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

New Jersey drunk driving laws are similar to DUI laws in other states. Penalties range from fines to jail time, and there are increased penalties for drivers whose blood-alcohol content far exceeds the legal limit. If you are charged with committing DUI in New Jersey, you should educate yourself about drunk driving laws. In addition, be sure to exercise your constitutional right to a New Jersey DUI attorney.

What are the penalties for a DUI/DWI in New Jersey?

    
Jail Up to 30 days Up to 90 days Up to 180 days
Fines and Penalties $250 to $500 $500 to $1,000 $1,000
License Suspension 3 months to 1 year 2 years 10 years
ID** Required Possible Possible Possible

First Offense DWI/DUI in New Jersey

First offense DWI offenders in New Jersey face:

  • jail time of up to thirty days.
  • alcohol/substance abuse assessment, as well as attendance at alcohol and driving awareness program
  • fines for first offense range from a minimum of $250 to not more than $400 for offenders with BAC in range of above .08 to less than .10, and offenders with BAC above .10 face fines ranging from $300 to $500. Fine amounts do not include annual DWI surcharge (set at $1,000 annually for three years) or other DWI fees

Conviction of first offense influences charges and sentencing of subsequent offenses for a period of ten years.

License suspension. Conviction of first offense DWI in New Jersey results in three months of administrative license suspension. If blood alcohol content (BAC) is greater than .10, offenders face administrative license suspension of seven months to one year in certain instances.

Reinstatement of license requires attendance at two days (six hours per day) of Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, payment of annual DWI surcharge of $1,000 for three years, payment of reinstatement fees, and possibly, installation of an ignition interlock device.

Second Offense DWI/DUI in New Jersey

a second DUI/DWI in New Jersey. These laws set the fines, imprisonment length, administrative penalties, and the period of time of an individual’s driving history (10 years) that will be taken into account.

  • A fine of $500-$1,000*
  • Imprisonment of at least 48 consecutive hours, and up to 90 days*
  • 48 consecutive hours detainment in a regional Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 1 year to 3 years after license restoration
  • In New Jersey, a second DUI is a misdemeanor because it is not punishable by more than a year in prison.

Third Offense DWI/DUI in New Jersey

third offense of DWI/DUI in New Jersey (within ten years) will be subject to fines, imprisonment and a ten-year license suspension (among other penalties).

Here are the fines and punishments that will need to be dealt with when you are facing these charges for a third DUI in New Jersey offense:

  • A fine of $1,000*
  • Imprisonment of 180 days
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Detainment in an in-patient alcoholism treatment program
  • A fee to be paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center dependent upon court sentence
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for 3 years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 1 year to 3 years after license restoration

 

Alabama Florida Louisiana Nebraska Oklahoma Vermont
Alaska Georgia Maine Nevada Oregon Virginia
Arizona Hawaii Maryland New Hampshire Pennsylvania Washington
Arkansas Idaho Massachusetts New Jersey Rhode Island West Virginia
California Illinois Michigan New Mexico South Carolina Wisconsin
Colorado Indiana Minnesota New York South Dakota Wyoming
Connecticut Iowa Mississippi North Carolina Tennessee
Delaware Kansas Missouri North Dakota Texas
Dist. of Columbia Kentucky Montana Ohio Utah


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.