Vermont Drunk Driving Laws
A criminal charge for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) of alcohol in Vermont should never be taken lightly. While individual sentences vary greatly depending on the severity of the case and a driver's past criminal and driving records, convicted drunk drivers can guarantee that there will be a long list of punishments, legal requirements and other serious consequences some of which can follow them for the rest of their life.
What are the penalties for a DUI in Vermont?
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail||Up to 2 years||Up to 2 years||5 years max.|
|Fines and Penalties||Up to $750||$1,500 max.||$2,500 max.|
|License Suspension||90 days||18 months||Life|
First Offense DUI in Vermont
License Suspension. A first DUI in Vermont may result in administrative license suspension of 90 days. Reinstatement of license requires completion of court-mandated alcohol and driving education programs, an alcohol assessment, and if applicable, an alcohol treatment program. Reinstatement for first offenders does not require use of ignition interlock device
Jail time. A first offense conviction does not require mandatory minimum incarceration, but drivers do face a maximum incarceration period of not more than two years.
Fines. Fines for first offense convictions are capped at a maximum of $750. However, these fines do not include case-specific surcharges, such as the DUI surcharge (at least $160), nor do they account for costs incurred in completing terms of the sentence, reinstatement of license, or any other costs of the DUI case
DUI convictions remain on driver’s record permanently and can influence sentencing of subsequent DUI convictions indefinitely
Second Offense DUI in Vermont
A person convicted a second time for DUI/DWI in Vermont will face immediate suspension of his license and operating privilege for a period of 18 months. To have the license reinstated after a second conviction, the individual must successfully complete an alcohol and driving rehabilitation program. Alternatively, the driver must show substantial progress in completing a therapy program at his own expense agreed to by the director of the driving rehabilitation program.
Additionally, a person stopped for suspicion of driving under the influence who refuses to submit to testing may have his license and driving privileges suspended for six months. The driver must successfully complete a rehabilitation or therapy program to have the license and privileges reinstated.
Third Offense DUI in Vermont
Vermont classifies a third DUI (or DWI, as it is sometimes known in Vermont) offense as a felony irrespective of other charges involved. In addition, keep in mind that Vermont has a lifetime lookback period. That means that it does not matter when the previous two DUI convictions occured when calculating what is your third DUI/DWI. An attorney can provide legal advice that may assist you in lowering the penalties and preparing you for hearings.
A third DUI/DWI offense in Vermot results in the suspension of the charged individual’s driver’s license for a minimum of three years to a lifetime.
Criminal penalties include fines and/or jail time allotted to a convicted individual. Penalties may also include additional punishment like community services. A third offense DUI in Vermont can be in the form of:
- A jail sentence of up to five years. The court will decide the length of the sentence depending on the severity of the offense.
- A fine of up to $5000 apart from the court and attorney fees.
- Attendance at an alcohol and drug rehabilitation program approved by the state. The program will cost you an additional $300.
- Community service for 400 hours. This is an additional punishment apart from the sentence and in some cases, can also substitute a part of the jail term.