Wyoming DUI / DWI Lawyers

Wyoming DUI Laws, Penalties, and Fines

It is illegal in the State of Wyoming to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above. The .08 percent limit is the standard measurement used throughout the United States for the "impaired" driver. The State of Wyoming has lower BAC limits for drivers under the age of 21 (.02) and drivers of commercial vehicles (.04). Wyoming's drunk driving law also includes driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, stimulants, barbiturates, inhalants and other intoxicants.

What are the penalties for a DUI in Wyoming?

1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense 4th Offense
Jail Up to 6 months 7 days to 6 months 1 to 6 months Up to 2 years
Fines and Penalties Up to $750 $250 to $750 $750 to $3,000 Up to $10,000
License Suspension 90 days 1 year 3 years Varies
ID Required Yes - if BAC .15
or above
Yes Yes Yes - lifetime

First Offense DUI/DWUI in Wyoming

Conviction of first offense DUI/DWUI in Wyoming carries no minimum mandatory incarceration period, but convicted drivers can face potential periods of incarceration up to six (6) months for the misdemeanor offense. The penalty is six months to a year if a child 16 or under is in the vehicle.

Drivers convicted may also be subject to fines of $750, which depending on the case-specific sentence, may be in lieu of incarceration or alongside incarceration. Fines do not account for expenses incurred during completion of sentence, such as probation visits, alcohol assessments, or ignition interlock devices, if applicable

Convictions of first offense DUI in Wyoming influence sentencing in future DUI convictions for a period of ten (10) years

Second Offense DUI in Wyoming

A second DUI/DWUI within 10 years will result in a license suspension of 1 year.  Second time offenders are not eligible to receive a probationary license. In addition, the driver’s license suspension stays in effect even if a court later dismisses the DUI charge.

If a driver is convicted of a second DUI/DWUI in Wyoming in ten years, the driver faces a fine between $250 and $750, and a minimum sentence of 7 days in jail. However, the judge has the discretion to sentence the driver to up to 6 months in prison. In addition, the offender must attend a state approved substance abuse program and undergo a substance abuse analysis. To have a drivers license reinstated following the one-year suspension, a driver must install an ignition interlock device in the vehicle. The driver must pay to have the device installed and the maintenance of the device. 

Third Offense DUI/DWUI in Wyoming

A third offense DUI/DWUI within 10 years in Wyoming results in a 3 year long license suspension (and you will not be eligible for a probationary license).  You will also have no choice but to attend and pay for a state approved substance abuse program.

Criminal Penalties

The fines for a third offense DUI in Wyoming begin at $750 and can go as high as $3,000.  The associated court costs will be added to this amount. The minimum jail time is 30 days and can go up to six months.

 

Alabama Florida Louisiana Nebraska Oklahoma Vermont
Alaska Georgia Maine Nevada Oregon Virginia
Arizona Hawaii Maryland New Hampshire Pennsylvania Washington
Arkansas Idaho Massachusetts New Jersey Rhode Island West Virginia
California Illinois Michigan New Mexico South Carolina Wisconsin
Colorado Indiana Minnesota New York South Dakota Wyoming
Connecticut Iowa Mississippi North Carolina Tennessee
Delaware Kansas Missouri North Dakota Texas
Dist. of Columbia Kentucky Montana Ohio Utah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.