Statute of Limitations

Deadlines to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit

Each state features a law that sets a point in time for filing a personal injury proceedings. These laws square measure called statutes of limitations, and also the clock generally starts running on the day of the accident or injury that triggered the proceedings. If you do not go to court and obtain your case filed before the deadlines listed below, you will probably lose your legal right to bring a proceedings over the incident.

Alabama 2 years Title 6, Ch. 2, 6-2-38
Alaska 2 years Sec. 9.10.070
Arizona 2 years Title 12, Article 3, Sec. 12-542
Arkansas 3 years Secs. 16-56-104, 16-56-105, 16-114-203, 16-62-102
California 2 years Code of Civ. Proc. Sec. 340
Colorado 2 years Colo. Rev. Stat. Sec. 13-80-102
Connecticut 3 years Conn. Gen. State. Sec. 52-584
Delaware 2 years Title 10, Ch. 81, Sec. 8119
DC 3 years Title 12, Ch. 3, Sec. 12-301
Florida 4 years Title 8, Ch. 95, Sec. 95.11
Georgia 2 years Sec. 9-3-33
Hawaii 2 years Rev. Stat. Sec. 657.7
Idaho 2 years Title 5, Ch. 2, Sec. 5-219
Illinois 2 years Ch. 735, Act 5, Art 13, Sec. 13-202
Indiana 2 years Title 34, Art. 11, Ch. 2, Sec. 34-11-2-4
Iowa 2 years Chapter 614, Section 614.1
Kansas 2 years Chapter 60, Art 5, Sec. 60-513
Kentucky 1 year Title 36, Chapter 413, Sec. 413.140
Louisiana 1 year Ci. Code. Art. 3492
Maine 6 years Title 14,Part 2, Ch. 205, Sub. 1, Sec. 752
Maryland 3 years Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Sec. 5-101
Massachusetts 3 years Title 5, Ch. 260, Secs. 2A and 4
Michigan 3 years Chapter 600, Act 236, Ch. 58, Sec. 600.5805, number 9
Minnesota 6 years Ch. 541, Sec 541.05, 541.07
Mississippi 3 years Title 15, Ch. 1, Sec. 15-1-49
Missouri 5 years Title 35, Ch. 516, Sec. 516.120
Montana 3 years Title 27, Ch. 2, 27-2-204 and 27-2-207
Nebraska 4 years Title 25, Section 207, 25-207
Nevada 2 years Chapter 11, Sec 11.190
New Hampshire 3 years Chapter 508, Sec. 508.4
New Jersey 2 years Title 2A, Ch. 14, Sec. 2A:14-2
New Mexico 3 years Ch. 37, Art. 1, Sec. 37-1-8
New York 3 years Civil Practice Laws and Rules, Art. 2, Sec. 214
North Carolina 3 years Title 1, Section 1-52
North Dakota 6 years; 2 years in wrongful death Title 28, Ch. 1, Secs. 28-01-16 and 28-01-18
Ohio 2 years Title 23, Ch. 5, Sec. 2305.10
Oklahoma 2 years Title 12, Ch. 3, Sec. 95
Oregon 10 years Ch. 12, Sec. 12.110
Pennsylvania 2 years 42 PA Con. Stat. Section 5524
Rhode Island 3 years Title 9, Ch. 1, Sec. 9-1-14
South Carolina 3 years Title 15, Ch. 3, Sec. 15-3-530
South Dakota 3 years Title 15, Ch. 2, Sec. 15-2-14
Tennessee 1 year Title 28, Ch. 3, Sec. 28-3-104
Texas 2 years Civ. Prac. & Rem Code, Title 2, Ch. 16, Sec. 16.003
Utah 4 years Title 78, Ch. 12, Sec. 78-12-25
Vermont 3 years Title 12, Part 2, Ch. 23, Subch. 2, Sec. 512
Virginia 2 years Title 8.01, Ch. 4, Sec. 8.01-243
Washington 3 years Title 4, Ch. 16, Sec. 4.16.080
West Virginia 2 years Title 55, Ch. 2, Sec. 55-2-12
Wisconsin 3 years Chapter 893, Sec. 893.54
Wyoming 4 years Title 1, Ch. 3, Sec. 1-3-105

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.